Mother

Sister, Me,Mother. from left to right

Sister, Me,Mother. from left to right

Mom,

Mom, I know I never tell you , I love you. I do not know why those three words are so hard for me to say to you. You have always been there for me, through my ups and downs. There has been way more” downs” than “ups”. You have seen me through my darkest hours , but yet you never judged me, you never turned your back on me when I was struggling with my addiction to pain killers. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for that. You took such wonderful care of my children when I had no choice but to hand over custody to you. You never gave up on me. Thank you.

I understand , now that I am older and somewhat a little wiser, why you did the things you did for me back then. It could have been so much easier for you, and on you to have just have written me off and let me go, let me fall, but you refused to allow that to happen. You allowed me to slip every now and then , but never fall. After daddy passed away you took over his role and you now became my Mother and Father. It is because of that , I now know how to be the wonderful mother that I am. You have taught me to have courage and strength. You taught me compassion and understanding. Yes we still get into a little tif here and there, but what Mother and Daughter does not have their differences.

You have been my rock throughout all these years. You have made so many sacrifices for me. You have helped me and you did your best to guide me in the right direction. I have made a few wrong turns along the way but you made sure I got back on track.You held my hand and did your best to mend my broken heart more than once. You are such a wonderful Mother and I have been blessed to have been given such a wonderful, loving,caring,giving,generous Mother. I would need every piece of paper in this world to write down all the words that describe just how wonderful a Mother you are.

I love when I hear women say ” I am just a mom” , that is not true , you are not just a mom. You have been a Mother, Father, life coach,therapist,nurse,teacher,physical therapist,doctor,my shoulder to cry on, etc. This list goes on. it takes more than an , I love you, a nurturing touch, a kiss on the boo boo, to be mom. It takes dignity, pride, self-worth, and self-discipline and an exceedingly whole lot of patience and  more. I know it is ‘ cliché ‘ But , I love you Mom, and thank you for being who you are and putting my needs and wants before your own. Thank you mom, I love you very very much.

2 thoughts on “Mother

Leave a Reply

